My name is Marjo Kommeren, aged 55 years and I’m Dutch. I stayed at DAKTARI for 4 weeks.


I always wanted to come to South Africa, to work as a nurse, but it never happened because I got married, got kids etc. Now my kids are grown up en independent, I decided to go traveling to places I always wanted to go. But when I researched travel arrangements I did not like them, I wanted to do something more active. My son then said: do volunteer work! He showed me DAKTARI's website and I was exited immediately. It gives me the opportunity to contribute to education and nature conservation at the same time.

Hi there!


My name is Silke, I’m 22 years young and live in Belgium. Normally, I was supposed to stay at DAKTARI for 4 weeks. However, after living my dream for 3 weeks, I realised I wasn’t ready to say goodbye yet and decided to add another 2. I’m sad to say that my adventure has come to an end, but I can gladly say that these past 6 weeks were the best ones of my life.

Hello. My name is Joshua Hopkins or David as some people called me by my middle name for the first week or so. I am from Scotland and I stayed at DAKTARI for a total of 10 weeks. I really wanted to spend my summer doing something productive and rewarding and as I loved working with children and animals, it seemed that DAKTARI was the best place for me. This was definitely not wrong!

"My name is Léna, I am 20 years old, I come from France and I stayed 3 weeks at DAKTARI.

"My name is Marine, I am 18 years old, I come from France and I stayed one month in DAKTARI.

"My name is Maya, I am a 19-year-old French girl and I decided to volunteer at Daktari for three weeks. I decided to come here by myself to improve my English but also because I wanted to discover South Africa. I started thinking about volunteering a few years ago, but I never had a precise idea of what I wanted to do, so when I discovered the organisation on Lea Camilleri’s channel, I signed up immediately."

Page 1 of 6